Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

AxcessCapon Teaching Innovation Competition

Awards to USA, Canada, and International Marketing
Instructors for the Design of Educational Innovations

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Marketing Management Association (MMA)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Awards of $250 and $1,000 to USA, Canada, and International marketing instructors to support excellence in marketing education by recognizing significant educational innovations. The innovation can be a single project, activity, assignment, exercise, method, or event, as opposed to an overall philosophy or strategy in marketing education.

This annual competition is held concurrently with the MMA Fall Educators’ Conference to recognize outstanding innovators in marketing education. Three finalists will be selected from the written submissions to present their teaching innovation at the conference. The winning innovation will be selected from the three presentations, with all three recognized at the Awards Luncheon.

Teaching innovations do not have to be entirely new pedagogical methodologies. In fact, they rarely are. More typically innovations build upon existing teaching approaches through meaningful improvements, unique additions, and/or novel adaptations. Entrants should take reasonable measures to ensure their proposed innovation has not been previously published or recognized as a winner or finalist in a different competition. Please give this investigation due diligence through conversations with colleagues both within and outside of your university, and thorough literature reviews.

Submissions will be evaluated using the following criteria: positioning statement, uniqueness and significance of the innovation, ease of use, adaptability for other marketing courses and/or levels, effectiveness and impact of the innovation, and overall quality and clarity of the innovation. Citations should follow APA guidelines.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 147597

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

The top innovation will receive a $1,000 prize; the other two innovations will each receive a $250 prize.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The competition is open to all marketing instructors—full- and part-time, including doctoral students—from all types of academic institutions.

The innovation, in its current form, must not have been previously published or recognized as a teaching competition winner.

Pre-Application Information:

The process starts with the submission of a paper of up to eight pages describing the innovation. Papers must be submitted electronically to the competition coordinator, Theresa B. Clarke, by the end of Sunday, May 19, 2019. You are welcome to contact Theresa if you have questions about the competition or need assistance.

Submitting a paper indicates intention for all listed authors to register for and attend the conference if selected as a finalist, and that for multiple-author entries, each author must have made a significant contribution. Note that the early conference registration fee deadline is August 1, 2019.

A panel of judges selects three finalists to present at the 2019 MMA Fall Educators’ Conference, taking place September 18-20, 2019 in Santa Fe, NM. The winning innovation will be selected from the three presentations, with all three recognized at the MMA Awards Luncheon on Thursday, September 19th.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit papers to:

Theresa B. Clarke

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.