Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Librarian of the Year Award

Award to a USA, Canada, or Mexico Librarian for
Extraordinary Achievements in the Profession

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Library Journal (LJ)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award to a USA, Canada, or Mexico professional librarian to recognize outstanding accomplishments and achievements within the field. Nominations are invited on behalf of librarians whose actions represent the highest service goals within the profession. These include the following:

-Free access to information for all
-The encouragement of reading and the creation of inducements to greater use of books and other library materials and information sources
-The enhancement and expansion of library service to all areas and constituencies in the community
-The strengthening of the library role and position in the community whether that community is a city or town, college or university, school, company, or corporation.

Examples of winning achievements can include but are not limited to:

-Creating innovative information services to serve identified community needs and thus enhance library service without resorting to user fees
-Building, rebuilding, and/or strengthening local political, fiscal, and public support
-Effectively promoting the use of the library’s services and collections
-Carving out a niche within a company, corporation, or campus that makes the library more vital and central to the mission and success of the firm or institution.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174734

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Any working professional librarian in any type of library anywhere in North America (United States, Canada, Mexico) is eligible. “Professional” means a person in possession of a master’s degree in Library and/or Information Science and/or holding a position designated “professional” in a library or library service.

People nominated in previous years are also eligible.

Pre-Application Information:

The nomination postmark or email deadline is October 21, 2019.

Nominations for Librarian of the Year are sought and welcome from the entire profession as well as from trustees, administrators, officials, colleagues, and citizens.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online nomination form:

Rebecca Miller

Librarian of the Year/LJ
Library Journal
123 William St., Suite 802
New York, NY 10038

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon

International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.