Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program - Science, Engineering, and Mathematics

Fellowships to USA, Canada, and International Scholars to
Develop New Research in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Harvard University - Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study

Deadline Date:

10/03/19 11:59 PM


Request a Grant Writer

Fellowships of $77,500 to USA, Canada, and International scholars to support creative new projects in the fields of science, mathematics, and engineering. Fellows will be based in Greater Boston during their fellowship and will be required to regularly share their work in progress. Disciplines may include biology and medical sciences, chemistry, computer science, earth and planetary sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics and applied sciences, materials science, physics and astronomy or astrophysics, and statistics.

Based in Radcliffe Yard, a sanctuary in the heart of Harvard University, fellows join a uniquely interdisciplinary and creative community. A fellowship at Radcliffe is an opportunity to step away from usual routines and dive deeply into a project. With access to Harvard’s unparalleled resources, Radcliffe fellows develop new tools and methods, challenge artistic and scholarly conventions, and illuminate past and present.

Fellows are expected to be free of their regular commitments so they may devote themselves full time to the work outlined in their proposal. The Institute will provide office or studio space and access to libraries and other resources at Harvard University during the fellowship year. Radcliffe fellows may also be eligible to receive relocation, housing, and childcare funds to aid them in making a smooth transition to Radcliffe. Health care options are made available as needed.

The following areas, while not exclusive, are of special interest:

- Radcliffe supports engaged scholarship. Applications are welcomed from scholars and practitioners who connect research to law, policy, pressing social issues, and who seek to actively engage audiences beyond academia.

- Reflecting Radcliffe’s unique history, each year some projects focus on women, gender, and society or draw on the Schlesinger Library’s rich collections. In 2020–2021, one fellow will be designated a Mellon-Schlesinger fellow, as part of the project commemorating the centennial of the 19th Amendment.

The Institute seeks to build a community of fellows that is diverse in every way.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 172555

Estimated Size of Grant:

Fellows receive a stipend of $77,500 plus an additional $5,000 to cover project expenses. Single-semester fellows receive a $38,750 stipend plus an additional $2,500 to cover project expenses.

Radcliffe Fellows may also be eligible to receive relocation, housing, and childcare funds to aid them in making a smooth transition to Radcliffe. Health care support is made available as needed. If fellows would like to hire Harvard undergraduate students as Research Partners, their hourly wages will be covered.

Term of Contract:

The fellowship runs from September 2020 – May 2021. Only under extraordinary circumstances are fellows permitted to come for only one semester.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants from throughout the world are encouraged to apply. Harvard University typically sponsors J-1 scholar visas for Radcliffe Fellows. Applicants may apply as individuals or in a group of two to three people working on the same project.

Applicants in science, engineering, and mathematics must:
- Have received their doctorate in the area of the proposed project at least two years prior to their appointment as a fellow (December 2018 for the 2020-21 fellowship year).
- Have published at least five articles in refereed journals. Most science, engineering, and math fellows have published dozens of articles.

This is not intended to serve as a post-doctoral fellowship. Individuals are funded who clearly evidence a strong body of independent research and writing.

Individuals who are in doctoral or master’s programs at the time of application submission are ineligible to apply. Former Radcliffe fellows (1999-present) are ineligible to apply.

Pre-Application Information:

The application deadline is October 3, 2019 (11:59 PM EST). Letters of recommendation are due by the same application deadline.

Applicants will be notified of the results of the selection process in March 2020.

Applicants who have applied in the past must submit a new application.

Eligibility Guidelines and Application Materials:
Overview of Financial Support:
Radcliffe Research Partnership:
How to Apply:
Project commemorating the centennial of the 19th Amendment:
Schlesinger Library:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application portal:

Radcliffe Institute Fellowship Program
8 Garden Street
Byerly Hall
Cambridge, MA 02138617-496-1324

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: American Samoa (USA)   Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)   Northern Mariana Islands (USA)

USA Compact Free Associations: The Federated States of Micronesia (USA)   Marshall Islands (USA)   Republic of Palau (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon


International country outside of the USA, Israel and Canada.