Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Millia Davenport Publication Award

Award to a USA, Territories, and Canada Author for a
Scholarly Book or Catalog About Costume and Dress

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Costume Society of America (CSA)

Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Award of $750 to a USA, Territories (Guam, Puerto Rico, and Virgin Islands), or Canada author for a published book or exhibition catalog that contributes significantly to the study of costume and research related to dress. Funding is intended for material that makes a considerable contribution to the analysis of costume, demonstrates originality and creativity, and draws on appropriate research methods and techniques. Nominations may be made by anyone.

Short-listed books will be evaluated on:
- Significance of the subject
- Quality of scholarship
- Appropriateness of research methods and techniques
- Quality of writing
- Originality
- Creativity of treatment
- Organization and documentation
- Appropriateness of illustrations
- Quality of illustrations

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 150317

Number of Grants:


Estimated Size of Grant:

A $750 honorarium. In addition, the author is invited to speak at the CSA National Symposium the following year and receives a $600 travel stipend and day-of-presentation registration fee to help defray travel and symposium expenses.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible a book must be:
- A published book or exhibition catalog by single author, multiple authors, or an edited book with contributors
- On a subject pertaining to any aspect of costume (history, theater, fashion, design, etc.) but reflecting the goals and philosophy of the Costume Society of America
- A scholarly work, with proper citations of sources and, as needed, bibliographic information, indices, glossary, and appendices
- Published during 15 months prior to mid-October in the year of the application deadline (books published a year earlier may be considered if they did not become available until late in the year or if nominations closed earlier than usual)
- Published in English for practical reasons
- By an author who is a citizen of the Americas or has been a member of the Costume Society of America for at least five consecutive years directly prior to the nomination; in the case of a multi-authored work, a majority of authors must be citizens of the Americas or members of CSA for at least five consecutive years directly prior to the nomination; in the case of edited books, a majority of both editors and contributors must be citizens of the Americas or members of CSA for at least five consecutive years directly prior to the nomination

The author or authors who are citizens of the Americas do not have to be members of CSA.

Pre-Application Information:

Application deadline is October 15, 2019.

Nominations may be made by anyone and should include the complete title of the book, names of the author or authors, name and location of publisher, and (if possible) confirmation that the author is or the majority of authors are citizens of the Americas.

Authors and/or publishers are notified that their book has or has not received the award by mid-January.

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Submit nominations to:
Mark Hutter

Costume Society of America
P.O. Box 852
Columbus, GA 31902-0852
(800) CSA-9447

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming

USA Territories: Guam (USA)   Puerto Rico (USA)   Virgin Islands (USA)

Canada: Alberta   British Columbia   Manitoba   New Brunswick   Newfoundland and Labrador   Northwest Territories   Nova Scotia   Nunavut   Ontario   Prince Edward Island   Quebec   Saskatchewan   Yukon